Another Month to an End

Fall has come to the land. I’m doing my best not to plunge into autumn depression by submersing myself in work. This month we did a festival gig with The Genuine Fakes, and last week we started rehearsing new songs for the next album. We gotta stay on top of the game in order to be able to release a follow up to the debut within a year of its release. I’m staying in the creative phase, continually writing new songs so hopefully we’ll have a bunch of good ones to choose from. Besides, we had about fifteen unused tracks for the first album so there’s no shortage of material to begin with. However, many of those song are ones that were written when the band was still in the cradle and we didn’t know exactly which direction to take yet, so not all of them feel relevant at this point. The good thing is that we’ve got loads of potential bonus tracks instead! 🙂

In other news, Hong Faux are going into the studio on Monday to record some new material. We’re adding four new ones to the four we’ve already recorded (three of which you can listen to in the player in the right hand column), and we’ve got a lot of song embryos so the album’s coming along nicely. This project has really taken shape now, and we’ve got a litte UK tour planned at the end of November. Check http://hongfaux.com for more information.

Other than that, I’m preparing for the European tour with Dexter Jones’ Circus Orchestra. I can’t wait to hit the road for a whole month. I haven’t done a trip like that since I was off with Friska Viljor two years ago. And I haven’t had the role of “guitar hero” since I played in Happypill!

Today Peder Claesson is coming over to my home studio. His solo album is almost finished and it’s sounding fantastic. I’ve done some lyrical consulting for him and played a few instruments here and there. I hope the album will get a proper release and the attention it deserves.

Time for the morning coffee, kids! Over and out.

Another Month to an End

Leave a comment